Green Bird Grasshopper Nymph

I will have to keep my eye on this one! Also known as Schistocerca shoshone, I snapped this photo minutes ago in my rose garden. I am hoping that it is not mature enough to start ravaging all of the leaves around it, but adult green bird grasshoppers are known to do just that. Yikes!

Grasshoppers have visited my garden and can hop and fly great distances (they also have wings). This is evident especially when I water my plants and inadvertently spray a grasshopper that, until that point, was well camouflaged.

When I spot an immature insect (or bird), I like to capture the image and post it since, oftentimes, photos of these specimens are usually of mature adults that no longer have most of the features of their youth. I like to know what the insect (or bird) looks like throughout their life cycle so I am not left standing among my plants wondering, “What was that?”

A photo of an adult green bird grasshopper can be found here: http://bugguide.net/node/view/35048

English Lavender in Bloom!

Also known as Lavandula angustifolia, this beautiful, perennial shrub has been in my backyard garden for many years. Despite its seemingly genteel appearance and lovely flower spikes, English lavender is robust and is drought resistant (based on experience).

In my garden, I have a combination of plants, some that require little care, some that require moderate care, and some that require greater care. On busy days (or months!), I am especially thankful to have plants like English lavender. I can be sure that there is something beautiful waiting for me in my garden every time I see it!

COLORFUL SISTERS

Traveling Fashion Designers 🌼

gardenpicsandtips.com

All about gardens and gardening

Storiform.com

“Everyone who is seriously involved in the pursuit of science becomes convinced that some spirit is manifest in the laws of the universe, one that is vastly superior to that of man.” - Albert Einstein

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France and Europe www.walk-bike-camino.com

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

Cindy Hollett, Writer

Mystery Writer, Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

The Scottish Country Garden

A Walled Country Garden in South East Scotland

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden!

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.