Dragon Tree Seedlings Propagated From Seeds!

This is truly a happy day! As I’d mentioned in previous posts, I’ve been attempting to propagate dragon trees (also known as drago trees and Dracaena draco trees). The cuttings from my mature dragon tree have been thriving in containers filled with ordinary potting soil (see my previous May 26 post for more detailed information on this method of dragon tree propagation). The tree cuttings were too beautiful to throw away! But now, the seeds from this tree have themselves begun to sprout! I’m stunned beyond belief! I’ll document their growth progress on this blog, but already the seedlings are producing very tiny characteristic sword-like leaves. Incredible.

HOW TO: The seeds produced by this tree are actually attached to large seed stalks that emerge from a mature dragon tree (see my May 26 post to see a close up picture of the seed stalk). I’d initially planted ripe, whole bright orange seed “berries” into a 5-gallon container of potting soil and watered a few times a week. Nothing happened for one month, so I dug out the “berries.” The orange flesh had not decomposed during this time. I removed the orange flesh covering the hard seeds and replanted the seeds in their container. As you can see in the photo, there are two seedlings. The one on the left is still connected to its seed, looking like a little snail! In this single 5-gallon container, I planted a total of 12 orange-flesh removed dragon tree seeds, in hopes that at least one would sprout. In time, 10 more may emerge. A dozen baby dragon trees in one pot may be in my future! As the trees become more mature, they may be ready to be transferred from container to planting directly into the ground. In my May 24 post, you’ll see why this tree is not meant to be a “forever” container plant! Keep reading this blog for future posts on this developing story!

NOTE: If you are planting dragon tree seeds that have been pre-processed or already “de-fleshed” of its orange “berry” flesh, I have no information about the level of success one might achieve by propagating dragon trees in that fashion. Does the orange flesh have properties that protect or nourish the hard seed to ensure successful propagation? Does the orange flesh not matter? I’m not sure!

Perhaps visitors of this blog who have had success propagating dragon trees with pre-processed or “de-fleshed” dry dragon tree seeds can share their success stories. I’ll try to propagate, in a separate container, dragon trees with some “de-fleshed” dry dragon tree seeds to see if propagation takes place(there are a few on my driveway, courtesy of hungry birds!). So, it’s taken a little shy of two months for my dragon tree seeds to sprout. It’s such a short wait to see the beginning of a what will be a majestic tree. I’ve never grown trees from seed (or cuttings) before, so I’m completely in awe. Wow!

24 Responses

  1. Hi and well done!

    I also love these trees and i managed to get some seeds.
    How things went with your experiment? The de-fleshed versus ordinary one.

    Lovely posts you have.

    Thanks

    • Hi, Franz,
      Nice to meet another dragon tree lover. The de-fleshed and the ordinary seeds were both successful and sprouted new baby dragon trees. My warmest wishes for your success in propagating your seeds and many thanks for visiting my blog!

      • We have a 3m Dragon Tree that we would like to shift as it has been planted by previous owners of our house in the wrong place with little room to grow. It is not possible to dig up the entire root system – is it possible to shift this tree by cutting it off and planting it again with little or no roots???
        Cheers, Susan

      • Hi, Susan,
        I have successfully propagated my dragon tree by using cut branches of the tree (with no roots) and planting them in containers with ordinary potting soil. It’s been a few years now and they are still alive and one of them has even produced normal seed stalks. So I would say that you have a good chance of having success with cutting the tree off and planting it in a very large container or better yet, directly into the ground. I would recommend that you stake the plant significantly because it will likely be very heavy and can tip over.

        My very best of luck to you on this effort. Please do send me updates on the progress of your tree. Thank you so much for visiting my blog!

  2. Hi All;

    So I too am a dragon seed propagator ; )- First I took all the orange off of the seeds, then scarified half of them soaking some in water for 24 hours, 48 hrs. and 72 hours. I buried about 40 seeds in a row directly into the ground (of the scarified seeds) 20 were up in about 6 – 8 weeks. I then took non-scarified seeds (5) planted them in milk containers with the same yard soil and (4) came up within 6 weeks. within 8 weeks, these were already 3 inches tall. Another pot with 10 seeds (i noticed today have 3 up about 1/2 tall. I wish i’d seen your posts earlier but it seems we have had mostly the same results ; )-. As a side note, i did read that the reason they are not populating from seeds in the wild is because it is believed that birds would eat the orange fruit and then the seeds would process through them and into the ground and believed that today, fewer birds are around to eat the fruit than in the past? It was the reason i decided to try to re-create the propagation scenario by removing the orange pulp fruit exterior…

  3. I’ve managed to get a couple of seeds to start about a month apart. My first seed has grown to about 4″ tall and hasn’t seemed to change much over the last 3 or 4 weeks. Is it possible it is growing more of a root system underground at this point, thus not extending upwards right now ? Any suggestions for continued growth ?

    These seeds were done differently. The first was just pushed into the soil (shallow), the second was nicked and put into the same soil. I’m now trying some that I’ve nicked and soaked for 2 days before burying.

    • Hi, Steve,
      From my experience with dragon tree seeds, which are growing in the ground in my backyard, the above-ground vegetation has shown quick growth spurts, followed by slower growth, and then more growth, so your seeds sound fairly typical to me. I do not think any special treatment is needed in this situation.

      The relatively younger dragon tree in my front yard showed hardly any trunk when I moved in over 10 years ago. Now, the trunk is at least 6 feet tall and about 8 inches wide. I never water this tree nor the larger, older tree. Rainy days are the only times they get water, and that is infrequent.

      So, no news is good news! Please let me know if anything changes with your seeds and seedlings, and many thanks for visiting my blog!

  4. I have put seeds into slightly damp peat in a 1/3 full zip lock lunch bags. I put 8 seeds in each bag and kept them on a sunny shelf.
    I put some seeds in which were still slightly fresh and orange and none of them sprouted, but the hard dark seeds did sprout.
    I had some sprout after about 6 weeks and the rest at 8 weeks.
    I have now put them all into plastic cups and eagerly await the resultant success rate. I have also put another 50 hard seeds into bags again, which I soaked in hot water for 20 hours before putting into the bags, so I will let you know if they sprout quicker or better.
    I will also follow up with the success rate of the sprouts.
    …………..cheers

    • Hi, Lyall,
      Thank you so much for the update on your dragon tree seeds. I wish you great success with your seedlings and very much look forward to hearing back from you with future (happy) news about your dragon tree project!

    • Hello Lyall, Interested in what you have done so far have not been fortunate to get to fgrow from seeds. Have a mature bush 100’s of seeds on and trying to figure best way to get to grow. Do you give the seeds any moisture at all once placed in bag? What or where is a good place to have them spout?

      Thanks..Barry

      • Hello Barry,
        I have found that the seeds need to be well dried out, it seems that any seeds that still have the orange skin still on do not seem to germinate. Once the seeds are in the moist peat and in the bags they do not require any more moisture. I placed them in a box with one side open to create a type of hot house effect, and sat the box on a shelf in the garage near a window which had the afternoon sun. Furthermore to my earlier post, the second lot of seeds which I soaked in hot water did not germinate any quicker and out of the fifty seeds about 18 sprouted strongly. Next post I’ll try and attach a photo of my seedlings.
        ……………cheers

  5. Just an update on the dragon seeds I planted in February, will try and attach photo of my young ones

  6. hi. im in Auckland new Zealand. my 2 dragon trees are outdoors and 8 years old. both seeded last year. blackbirds feasted on the orange berries the in their droppings deposited the inner seeds throughout my garden which have sprouted all over the place. in the warmer parts of the garden the the plants have taken off really well and now at about 5months they’re about 300mm high. I’ve transplanted 10 a few weeks ago into pots and they doing well with a little liquid fish firt. ill try and keep you posted.

    • Congratulations, Brett, on your great success with our dragon trees! Please do keep me posted on your progress, and many thanks for visiting my blog!

  7. Hi there updating ya’s on my baby dragons I potted last June form the seedlings growing around the garden. They’re growing really well and are now averaging 400mm in height. They do however suffer when I leave in the sun during hot periods as the roots get too hot so have placed them in semi shade and in larger pots PB25 size.
    So basically it works fine growing from seed and highly recommend keeping an eye out for mature dragon trees that are seeding and giving it a go they are awesome garden features. We light our 2 big ones up at night as they are in our bar b q area and are about 8 to 10
    Foot tall. Anyway all the best from New Zealand. Have a good year.

    • Brett,
      Hello! Thank you for your very exciting news on your baby dragons and more mature dragons! How very fortunate you are! I wish you continued success with your dragons, and please do drop a note with any further news about them. Wishing you a truly lovely year!

  8. I read before that the seeds don’t like compost, is this not true? I attempted to germinate some in a plastic container with moss and had no luck. I will try with seeding compost now! Thank you.

    • Dear Lukas, I don’t have information on the positives/negatives of using compost for dragon tree seeds. I will say, however, that many bare seeds have rolled down my driveway and onto the ground under the tree, which I never water nor do I plant them – no intervention at all. They still managed to find a way to get into the soil by themselves and germinate. So, keep trying since these seeds are eager to germinate and grow mightily. If compost does not work, try again with some other medium. But please do write again with updates on your progress with your effort to grow in compost. Many thanks for visiting my blog!

  9. I bought a small packet of four defleshed seeds in Lanzarote last year. I planted then in seed compost and one has germinated and is doing well. it is now about ten inches tall and has several leaves.

    • Dear Maggie, That’s lovely news. I hope it will continue to thrive for many years to come. Many thanks for visiting my blog!

  10. Hi there, I live in the Magaliesberg in South Africa. I gathered the dragon seeds in Port Elizabeth. I removed the orange fruit, washed them in a mild bleach diluted water solution, pressed them into river sand with the eye facing the side, the same method for germinating Clivia. The all germinated in 4 weeks, roots are 4/5cm long and the sharp pointed leaves about 3/4cm. I am going to plant these into bags today in a fine sifted mix of soil, mushroom compost and riversand.

    • Dear Pam, Congratulations on the successful germination of your dragon seeds. Please do keep me updated on the progress of your plants as they grow. Many thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

