RIP: Neighborhood Opossum

Within the past 15 minutes, I found a dead opossum on my parkway. It was quite awful, really. I’m not sure if it was male or female, but it was flattened, which leads me to believe it was run over by a car and then the guilty person picked it up and put it on the parkway. I went inside my house and got a large white garbage bag to put it in. I had a shovel ready to use, scooped it up, put it in, and tied up the bag. After a few moments, I chatted with a neighbor, with the bag in one hand. As we were talking, I looked at the bag, which clearly showed blood as the body slid down into the bag. It wasn’t the blood that was so upsetting to me. It was feeling the weight of the dead opossum as I held the bag, at least 5 pounds. Then, with emotion running high, I said to my neighbor, “It’s so awful! I’m carrying a dead body! A dead body!” She was also a bit disturbed by it. It’s really a different experience when compared to disposing of dead insects, at least for me. With another mammal, just acknowledging the heft of the fallen beast made it quite sad and very disturbing. I walked away quickly into my house, with the bag and found myself, surprisingly, saying a prayer for the opossum, and its inglorious end. I then placed it in a garbage bag outside. If it visited my back or front yards, I hope the visit was a good one, at least. RIP neighborhood opossum.

More information on the opossum can be found here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opossum

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

