Mystery Orchids!

That’s what the sign read just as I was about headed out of the market this afternoon. I infrequently shop at a local high-end supermarket, usually for sale items. In the floral department, I saw a sign, “Mystery Orchids,” and there were 5 indoor orchids currently not in bloom. They all had 1 cut-down flower spike. Some had leaves that were partly cut. But they were all obviously very healthy. The only thing missing was their identification. They retail at $25 each (if they were in flower and had identification), but I bought all of them at a fantastic clearance price of $5 each! Wow!

The person helping me with my purchase asked if I had prior experience with rehabilitating plants like this and I happily said, “Yes, and with success!” He wished me well with these new plants, which is a lovely way to start this new chapter in these orchids’ lives. I am very pleased. They may or may not flower again in the next few months but I don’t mind waiting longer because they will flower eventually.IMG_3288

Gardening bargains like this can usually be had at the end of the year to the first early months of the new year, even at high-end stores. I’ve rescued many indoor and outdoor plants over the past several years and have had success by simply providing basic care for most of them; a bit more rehabilitation for a few. With proper care, these bargain-basement beauties can provide many years of great enjoyment. I am not too fussy about having a particular type of indoor orchid. I’m just pleased to have a healthy plant. I can’t wait for these “mysterious” orchids to flower, to reveal their true selves. What a grand way to celebrate the new year!

3 Responses

  1. They look healthy. I’m sure you are eager for them to flower. I was given a beautiful orchid a while back and am happy to see a flower spike. I guess it likes my kitchen window. I’m kinda afraid to move it. 🙂 Do you fertilize yours at all?

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

