Sprinkler Head Needs to Be Replaced

Within the hour, I found that one of my sprinkler heads in my front yard lawn blew out, literally. This must have happened a few days ago. The situation is not so difficult: the repair is easy (see my previous post on how to do this repair: https://janedata.wordpress.com/2012/09/22/do-it-yourself-replacing-a-sprinkler-head/). Also, our neighborhood received a good rain yesterday evening, making the soil much easier to dig and remove the surrounding sod. Even better, when I arrived at my neighborhood home store, they had closed for the day for company business, but their kind representatives were in the parking lot and handed out to customers a coupon for their next visit for the inconvenience. I’m loading up on extra sprinkler heads tomorrow, rain or shine!IMG_3276

The soil was nice and soft to dig and the weightiness of the soil felt so good in my hand. My soil is rich and plants thrive in it. I wanted to do the dig now while the soil was much softer than if I had waited until tomorrow.

The repair should not take too much time. It’s been a little over 12 years since I had my sprinkler system installed so I’m anticipating that the sprinkler heads will fail and need replacement in the near future. The sprinkler heads are plastic so that they’ve lasted this long is appreciated. Doing my own garden and yard repairs over the years have increased my feeling of competence in maintaining my home and feel much more connected to it!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

