Lettuces in My Raised Row Bed Garden

Lettuces have, at long last, appeared in my raised row bed garden. From seed, I have planted butter crunch and Romaine (aka Parris Island Cos) lettuces. I was off to a slow start in having any crops because, in the early months, my raised row bed garden was besieged by gophers from above ground. I had blocked out their below ground access by laying down chicken wire on top of the bare soil before laying additional heavy layers of wood bark mulch and garden soil on top of that. Chicken wire wrapped around the garden took care of that successfully, I am happy to say.

I had to also adjust my watering schedule. These raised rows dry out more quickly than if they were in containers so I water nearly every day. When this season’s crops are done, I will have to replenish the supply of soil, and I’m contemplating using potting soil instead of garden soil during that time because I have, in the past, found that potting soil to be moister from the bag and retains water better.

IMG_3230IMG_3231

Now, I have lettuces that are near-ready for my enjoyment. The large one in the top photo is the butter crunch and the other (two of them!) is the Romaine. Check out their gorgeous leafiness! Within the hour, I have also planted new lettuce seeds to replenish these more mature plants as they are enjoyed.

The initial effort in putting together one of these gardens was significant, it’s true, since I did this by myself. Now that I better understand how these rows behave, I am confident that I will be inundated with lettuces in the coming months. I am very excited to have these modest victories in my garden, so much so that I am thinking about adding more of these raised row gardens in other parts of my back yard – more homegrown crops to enjoy!

One Response

  1. I love fresh lettuce. You will have some fabulous salads!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

