My Garden Is My Place of Peace

With so many awful and heartbreaking events in the world on a near-daily basis, it becomes more important to me that I maintain my one place of peace, my garden. When I say “garden,” I really mean the entirety of all of the spaces on my property where things grow. When I am gardening, I tune everything else out. I lose all track of time and can be working for hours without a break and not feel worn by the end of it. Tomorrow morning, I am looking forward to deadheading my roses, dead vegetation, and removing the fallen citrus fruits from my neighbors’ trees. This coming weekend, I am looking forward to mowing and edging my lawn, removing weeds, and trimming various bushes in my front yard. These may sound like tedious chores, but the stress relief that follows, not only from physical exertion from garden work, but also to see that things are cleanly managed and peaceful, is wonderful.

Over the years, I have tried other activities to pull me into a place of peace, e.g., meditating, exercising, taking long drives, but gardening has consistently brought to me a special joy and peace. Seeing healthy plants, fruitful trees, and luscious flowers, all with the benefit of a nice ocean breeze on most days – well, I’m very fortunate and appreciative of what my garden gives back to me each day. During the warm months, I enjoy staring out at my backyard garden while sipping a cup or two of tea. I am especially delighted that birds have been regular visitors to my garden. Right now, I am hearing the plaintive cooing of a mourning dove and the song of a northern mockingbird. The not-as-delightful sound of a commercial airplane is just pulling away from overhead, but such is life in this little part of the world. There’s still light out and that gives me more time to take in this peaceful space. I am glad that my place of peace is just outside my door.

2 Responses

  1. You sound just like me! i get so much happiness from my tire garden right outside my kitchen window, where I also have birds who visit my birdbath and feeders. When I am out there it is my own private sanctuary!

  2. I go to the garden for rest too. Yes, I think of projects and weeding and succession planting, but time spent in the garden leaves me more enthused than exhausted.

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

