First Harvest of Sanguinelli Blood Oranges

I’m very happy to report that I made my first harvest from one of my Sanguinelli blood orange trees. I picked two fruits and the sweet-tart flavor was out of this world delicious! The medium-sized fruit also produced an impressive amount of zest. Pictured is the zest from just one orange; after I grated the second, wow! Thanks to my citrus grater, I am now enjoying a lovely tisane made with hot water and zest (housed in a ball infuser). In the past, when I bought oranges from the market, I’d simply eat the fruit and discard the rind – a lost opportunity. Now I plan to cull the zest from my homegrown oranges henceforth.

IMG_3202

In the weeks leading up to the harvest, I went to a local supermarket and bought a bag of blood oranges (Moro variety). I found the taste to be a bit too bitter for my palate. Even so, it was a delicious blood orange. Each variety of blood orange has its share of passionate fans. There are several more small fruits on my three Sanguinelli blood orange trees in different stages of maturity. Having planted them only last year, I am very grateful to be enjoying any fruits this season.

The flavor is very intense and fresh. It is a very happy moment when the crop you plant turns out to be more delicious than expected, which is certainly true for me. Decades from now, when my back yard is overrun with blood oranges, I will be very grateful for my early years of tender loving care of these great trees!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

