Indoor Tulip Container Garden

For many years, I’ve wanted to grow tulips but hadn’t gotten around to it. Finally, while shopping at my local dollar store, I had no more excuses. I bought several tiny bags of tulip bulbs and a few bags of potting soil, each for a dollar, and used the several small containers that I’d kept in storage for years (following previous failed attempts at growing indoor orchids – my current indoor orchids are thriving, however).

I simply added them to my bathroom container garden and they have, I am happy to report, shown signs of healthy growth of emergent leaves. Check out the tiny green spears pushing their way out into the world! Because I am generally low-tech and thrifty, check out my “highly advanced” labeling system: rubber bands wrapped around the paper tag with colorful photos of mature tulips to keep track of which flowers will grow in each container!

IMG_3167IMG_3166

I am very excited that these tulips bulbs were very much alive and readily available in my dollar store and am looking forward to a bathroom filled with tulips in the coming months, to keep my orchids and amaryllis plants company!

Shopping Tip: You can always start with buying one bag of tulip bulbs from the dollar store – in my case, each bag contains three bulbs. The bag of potting soil was also one dollar, so for two dollars and change, you can create a modest but beautiful indoor tulip container garden!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

