New Additions to My Super-Informal English Rose Garden

We’ve had some light rain here today and it let up about an hour ago, a perfect opportunity to head to the local nursery and look to fill in my English rose garden. I was very fortunate to find and bring back home the following roses:

Climbing roses: Mortimer SacklerIMG_3153

Non-climbing shrub roses: Graham Thomas, L. D. Braithwaite, Lady Salisbury (pictured), Strawberry Hill, Winchester Cathedral (a sport or mutation of Mary Rose, which I purchased last week)

I finished doing a little bit of maintenance, deadheading a few plants and removing dead vegetation. Since I am keeping these plants in their containers, as the plants get larger, I can move them around to maximize air circulation and reduce the risk of powdery mildew (fungus).

I can’t believe my good fortune to find these rose plants on clearance! I have one of some, and a few of others. They all bring something interesting, lovely, and fragrant to my garden.

What is especially wonderful that half of the English rose plants that I have are already loaded with many healthy flower buds, so I don’t have to wait too long to see these roses transform my back yard into a really special space. The picture below is the full Lady Salisbury rose plant – very difficult to turn away from such a healthy and beautiful English rose!IMG_3154

More information about these truly exquisite roses (along with photos of mature flowers) can be found here:

http://www.davidaustinroses.com/american/Advanced.asp?PageId=1988

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

