In Their Infancy: Watermelon and Honeydew Melon Seedlings and Sanguinelli Blood Orange

It’s a very happy occasion to report on good gardening results from my backyard food garden. Started from seed, most of the watermelon and honeydew seeds that I planted in my raised row bedIMG_3095 garden have germinated, producing healthy seedlings that will hopefully become juicy melons in the coming months!

What I found especially lovely this afternoon was the sight of two seedlings, one watermelon (black seed) and the other honeydew (yellow-brown seed), and each still had attached to it the seed from which they sprang. I thought it was a simple but powerful reminder of where my food is coming from. Great things come in small packages!IMG_3096

One of my Sanguinelli blood orange trees, in the past week, has been in flower bud, gracing my garden with a heavenly sweet scent. Now, several of these flower buds have lost their flower petals and have transformed into the tiniest of fruits that, with time and a bit of water and lots of direct sun, will become delicious mature fruit.

My two other Sanginelli blood orange trees do not yet have flower buds, but I am hopeful that they will in the comingIMG_3097 weeks. Blood oranges hit the market in my area December through April so these are prime months for these fruits to develop into something really great.

My improved Meyer lemon tree is currently in flower bud so I expect that tiny fruits will appear on it in the next few weeks.

One Response

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

