Apple Trees: Golden Delicious and Beverly Hills

What a great way to usher in the new season, with two new apple trees! I just got home after an unexpected find of a clearance sale at my local gardening store. I spotted the last two remaining apple trees and scooped them up! The one on the left, with the under-ripe apple hanging from it is the Golden Delicious apple tree (sweet apples)  and the other is the Beverly Hills apple (somewhat tart apple, like the McIntosh).

I already have a 3-in-1 apple tree (I am fairly certain that the apples that I have been eating all week have been the Anna apple – I’m still not sure what the other 2 varieties are since I bought it as bare root and although the label said 3-in-1, it had 5 name tags attached). The flavor of my apples have been wonderful, which I attribute to the quality of my backyard soil.IMG_3042

As time goes on, I find myself wanting to focus on just a few crops that I know I can grow well. Following the success with my one apple tree, and knowing how much I enjoy apples, I thought it was a good idea to become really good at growing apples. I enjoy eating apples year-round, but having a variety of sweet as well as tart apples gives me more opportunities to enjoy fresh apples as well as making them into sauce, pies, baked, and cooking them in many other ways. Having been burned several times by store-bought apples that looked normal, but turned out to be bland, it seemed a natural to grow my own, including varieties that are not usually found in stores.

Within the next half-hour, I will be planting them directly into the soil in my backyard. These two trees look to be healthy and I am very hopeful that my apple harvest will increase exponentially in no time!

CONSUMER ALERT UPDATE:  Apple seeds are highly toxic if ingested. More information on toxic plants can be found here:

http://www.calpoison.org/hcp/KNOW%20YOUR%20PLANTS-plant%20list%20for%20CPCS%2009B.pdf

One Response

  1. […] trees, Beverly Hills and golden delicious, with great hope that they would thrive in my backyard (https://janedata.wordpress.com/2013/06/22/apple-trees-golden-delicious-and-beverly-hills/), as has my 3-in-1 apple tree. Unfortunately, this has not been the case. Both fell victim to cedar […]

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

