Dr. Huey Rose to Be Cut and Propagated

At long last, today is the day I will be cutting the three Dr. Huey rose canes that have appeared on my hybrid tea rose, Sunblest, and transplanting elsewhere in the garden so that they will hopefully find a new life, ending its now parasitic relationship to the poor Sunblest rose. IMG_3006

As I had posted one year ago, I learned that the dark red Dr. Huey rose is frequently used as rootstock for roses that have weaker root systems. But, as shown here, it has the potential for overtaking its host, in this case, Sunblest, and likely killing it. These two roses are emanating from one rose plant!

Dr. Huey is beautiful and vigorous so I am hopeful that the cutting and transplantation will lead to a successful propagation of these roses, on a different side of the garden. The cut canes will be planted directly into the soil. I will be watering these transplanted cuttings daily in the early days, helping (and hoping that) they will establish themselves in their new location. Looking at this from a positive view, if the propagation is successful, I will have gotten new rose plants for the price of one!

3 Responses

  1. How did this turn out for you? I love the Dr. Huey rose color. I am thinking of trying rose propagation soon. I have a pretty miniature rose that I want to propagate.

    • Dear Sarah,
      I have not yet been successful in trying to propagate Dr. Huey, but will keep trying. One note: no matter how often I remove Dr. Huey canes from the primary rose plant, it keeps coming back! So there will be more opportunities to propagate this rose. Thank you so much for visiting (and following) my blog!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

