Phalaenopsis Orchid

Indoor orchids, such as the lovely Phalaenopsis (also known as a moth orchid) that I purchased this morning, have been the source of great agony and ecstasy. When I buy an indoor orchid, I am haunted by memories of past indoor orchids that have met an untimely demise.

Like many gardening aficionados, there seems to be one plant or type of plant that, despite efforts, ends in disaster. When I buy an indoor orchid, every five years or so, I go in with great excitement and anticipation, enthralled by the beautiful flowers and graceful spike and give it a warm welcome into my home.

I will be vigilant over these next weeks, like a helicopter plant-parent! Seriously, it always saddens me to lose a plant, especially orchids. The plant I bought this morning has a few flowers left for me to enjoy. Once the flowers are gone, I will need to watch the leaves for signs of leaf stress (in my experience, the leaves start becoming wrinkled).

I hope to maintain this plant very well so that when it is ready, it will produce another flower spike(s) for many years. Sending out positive vibes!

One Response

  1. I’ve got a few phals in pots under a tree in my yard that are just about ready to open. Tonight though, they are inside due to an expected temp drop to 50degrees….They haven’t formed buds in two years, and NO way can I risk losing them after all this waiting!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

