Bland Fruit from the Market

It’s a travesty, one that I have experienced multiple times from small and large supermarkets: bland fruit. I have had so many such bland experiences over the past 12 months that I am wondering if some markets have made a decision to stop tasting a sample of the fruit before buying, in favor of simply buying the cheapest fruit. Good-looking fruit is certainly not synonymous with delicious fruit! And you can bet that I tell all of my friends where I bought bland fruit. I give these markets chance after chance and it seems that over the past 12 months, quality of fruit (and my customer loyalty) has eroded.

The flavor-packed, juicy apples from my garden this year (above!) have left me quite keen on finding flavorful fruit. This week, I have apples, from the market. The fruit is nicely colored, firm. But it takes only a bite to know that these apples were only packed with water, without the accompanying apple flavor. What happened? I have at least 10 more of these awful things to finish before getting more fruit (I hate to waste anything). I will go with a “sure thing” (with regard to flavor) later this week, bananas.

I have also been burned this year by bland grapes, nectarines, peaches, and plums. The farmers’ markets in my area happen during times when I am not around, so that is not really an option and I am opposed to buying fruit from high-end (priced) markets. I will try Trader Joe’s and see how that works out; otherwise, I will probably try ethnic markets. And I will continue to tend to my modest fruit garden because I trust the results of home-grown.

Fingers crossed that my next trip to the market will provide sweet results!

CONSUMER ALERT UPDATE:  Apple seeds are highly toxic if ingested. More information on toxic plants can be found here:

http://www.calpoison.org/hcp/KNOW%20YOUR%20PLANTS-plant%20list%20for%20CPCS%2009B.pdf

One Response

  1. I was thinking the same thing in the past year or so! Even the homegrown sometimes are not up to par. My Mom grew papaya trees and the fruit is so bland, it is not worth eating! Sadly. Is the soil just too barren??? I know it is all sand here, but you wonder if there is not as much soil enrichment going on due to cost. Good luck on your quest…a worthwhile one, for sure!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

