Tomato Plant in a Cage

I just put in a few wire tomato cages for my Black Krim tomato plants. Started from seed, my tomato plants are not yet fruiting, which is the best time to put in cages. In my zeal and inexperience during my early days as a gardener, I did not care when I put in tomato cages, even if the plants were fruiting.

My hands are steady but are not always patient so I would sometimes put in the cages into the container of an already-fruiting tomato plant and inadvertently pull off immature fruits. Sad!

In the case of this specific plant in the photo, the plant is a little bit short, so I added one skinny wooden stake to encourage the plant to grow straight up (vs. toppling over, which I have experienced in my early days!).

I have wondered if it’s not too late to expect tomatoes this year from my plants. I will give them plenty of TLC and water – the sun and nature will take care of the rest. My climate is mild so it would not surprise me if I had tomatoes well into autumn, but I will report on that potential success story should it materialize! I have had prior success with container-grown tomatoes growing through autumn so there is precedent!

HOW TO: Tomato cages typically have four prongs. Whether growing in a container or directly in the ground, the plant should be in the center of where the four cage prongs are to be gently pushed into the soil.

CONSUMER ALERT UPDATE: The non-fruit parts of tomato plants are poisonous if ingested.  More information on toxic plants can be found here: h

http://www.calpoison.org/hcp/KNOW%20YOUR%20PLANTS-plant%20list%20for%20CPCS%2009B.pdf

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

