French Lavender!

I am over-the-moon happy with an unexpected find at my neighborhood Lowe’s Home Improvement store this morning! I always look at their very good clearance rack in their garden department and found an astounding 14 French lavender plants, each for one dollar. Wow! I love gardening, but I also love saving money and over the years, the clearance rack at Lowe’s has allowed me to achieve both goals.

I have been working over the past several weeks in re-doing by backyard garden, mostly because of gopher damage to my plants. Because of so many now-defunct plants, I have had to figure out how to “remodel” my backyard garden without busting my budget.

Most of these plants are relatively small (in 4-inch pots),  but I have a few in 6-inch pots.  Smaller plants often mean less expensive, but not necessarily poor quality.

Since these plants are young, they will need a little time to grow in my garden. I already have a few of these plants from years ago and know that in my garden, they grow fairly rapidly. These gorgeous perennials, also known as Spanish lavender (Lavandula stoechas L.), are excellent for attracting bees and butterflies!

The sheer number of plants from today will go a long way in making my backyard garden once again a beautiful and fragrant place!

2 Responses

  1. It is getting hard for me to find my beloved spice, Herbes De Provence. Now you can make your own with lavender on hand. Do you use Herbes De Provence??? It is a mixture of savory, thyme, basil, lavender and fennel. It is delicious! Your lavender is very pretty!!!

    • Hi, Julie,
      Indeed, I do use Herbes de Provence, so far only with chicken and the gravy I make from the stock and a little of the chicken fat. I plan on using it to make homemade herb bread. I am also contemplating using it to create some type of savory-sweet jam or preserves with an as-yet-unknown fruit(s).

      I purchased a large bag of Herbes de Provence from Cost Plus World Market for about $6 last year. It’s a good place to find some reasonably priced herbs and spices (including lavender flowers for cooking)!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

