Pink Breath of Heaven, Awash in Heavenly Flowers!

Nearly two years ago, I rescued these two pink breath of heaven plants from a home improvement store clearance bin. Back then, large portions of both plants were dried out; I was not sure of their long-term prognosis. Look at these lovelies now! Wow! Both plants are represented here. I always keep my eye out for the garden clearance items, especially now that results such as this can be had!

They most certainly liven up my mostly dormant winter garden. I do not prune these shrubs since I think their beauty is heightened by their free-growing ways.

2 Responses

  1. We also got one from home improvement store a couple of years ago. We only have one plant and it is starting to turn brown. I recently replanted in a larger container. We did get a few days of freezing temps. Do you have any tips that I could use to bring mine back to life? I haven’t been able to find anymore in our area, but I also didn’t know the name.

    • Dear Blair,
      The plant can withstand some harsh temperatures, especially given the age of your plant. The plant should have moist but not soggy, well-draining soil (i.e., don’t overwater). Also, what is the quality of your *potting* soil? The soil should be nutrient rich; plant food may also help in this regard. If the whole plant is brown, that may problematic, in which case I’d carefully remove it from the container and inspect the roots to make sure that they are still healthy and alive. I hope this helps – please do let me know how your plant is progressing, and many thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

