Planting Cauliflower and Eggplant Seeds Today!

I have the day off today, a perfect opportunity to get a handle on my autumn-winter vegetable garden!  I already have my cauliflower seeds at home – Snowball X.

I went to the local nursery today to pick up a few packets of eggplant seeds, in two varieties: Black Beauty (the one I currently have, VERY prolific) and Long Purple.

I very much enjoyed steamed cauliflower. And don’t get me started on the Black Beauty eggplants! My one 5-gallon container currently has one plant and there are at least 12 eggplants in various stages of maturity. They’re very delicious.

Because of the rather mild winters here, I will be planting the cauliflower and eggplant seeds directly into 5-gallon (or larger) containers. The potting soil is ready to go.

I went to Whole Foods right after my visit to the nursery. Awhile ago, I remembered that they sold vegetable seeds. Apparently, at least in this one store, they now only carry a very restricted selection of seeds, such as wheat grass, I think. The kind clerk who assisted me and I shared a laugh at the limited selection and he said, “Yeah, I know, you’re looking for real food!” Indeed!

I absolutely love homegrown vegetables, not only because of the cost-effectiveness, but because I know that I do not add any pesticides. Only water, sunshine, and lots of tender loving care.

TIP: Be careful when you remove an eggplant – for sure, the Black Beauty variety has very sharp THORNS on the stem and calyx – based on personal experience!

2 Responses

  1. I had 2 of the long purple type of eggplants, and just loved the slender size…great for cutting up to add ot vegetable skillets I like to make! I read that you can keep an eggplant plant going for three years, so I bought an 8 pack of more…they were labelled Ichibana, but the leaves are so much larger nad with purple stems…I am beginning to think they sold me Black Beauty’s! It will be fun to see!

    I just love my sideyard garden…vegies grown in 5 gallon pots too.

    Good luck with your newly planted babies!!!
    Julie

    • Thanks so much! I’m hoping for a lot of eggplants. I only started eating eggplant only a few years ago and simply enjoy them. I’m just happy when my eggplant plants last for at least one year 🙂

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

