Cordless String Trimmer

I purchased a new cordless string trimmer today (Ryobi 12″, 18 volt lithium battery, P2002). I’d owned corded trimmers in the past but was never really happy with having to drag out a long extension cord, which had to be plugged into an outlet and then threaded through a door or window screen left ajar while using the trimmer.

I must say I am impressed thus far. With one charge, I’ve managed to clear out nearly all of the affected areas – I’m now taking a break, but still have battery life still.

 I’ve been working on my weed removal project the past several weeks. The task has taken some additional time because of the area involved (2000+ square feet) and the amount of weed vegetation that blanketed the area.

With a lopper, I cut off the above ground vegetation at the base of each weed, one by one (!). That was the first step. The second step was to spray weed killer (Roundup Super Concentrate, purple cap) all over the areas where the weed vegetation appeared, with the help of a hose end sprayer. It took a few weeks for the weed killer to take effect, but once it did take effect, the results were very clearly dead weeds, a small field of golden brown.

This afternoon was the final step, removal of the dead vegetation. The cordless string trimmer has made very quick work of the dead weed removal and I’m actually looking forward to going back outside within the hour to finish it.

I found that the operation of the trimmer to be easy, it’s not too heavy, and a single charge lasts a good amount of time to clear a very large area.

SHOPPING TIP: The trimmer company also sells pre-strung spools of trimmer string (aka trimmer line), sold in 3-packs of spools. From my past experience with corded trimmers, the spools that hold the string really don’t wear out that quickly, so I opted instead to purchase a generic packet of just the trimmer string only.

I purchased the required size of monofilament string for this specific trimmer (string measures .065 inches in diameter – see the above photo) and will thread it myself when the existing spool runs out of string. Note that a generic package of string only costs less than half the price of the 3-pack of pre-strung spools. From my past experience, stringing a spool is very straightforward so is  a good economical choice.

UPDATE: Here are detailed manufacturer’s instructions on how to use this product: http://www.scotts.com/smg/catalog/productTemplate.jsp?proId=prod70348&itemId=cat50096&tabs=usage

UPDATE #2: I’ve owned this string trimmer for less than three years and something in the wiring makes it short out and not work. This happened today, 3/15/2014, the second such incident. I only use it once a month, so I doubt it is from overuse. Sadly, I will hold off on bringing it back to the repair shop since I suspect the problem will return and I am not sure what causes it to short out. It is also a bit tiresome to have to the battery run out in under 30 minutes and then you have to wait to recharge it to continue on with your work. (Hands thrown up in the air). Disappointed with Ryobi. If manufacturers want more people to “go green,” they have to make the products last as long (if not longer) and perform as well as non-green products. I will be shopping for a gas-powered string trimmer soon.

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

