Hose-End Sprayer

Finally, a weekend without rain! Over the past few months, I’ve not been able to fully tackle a dreaded garden maintenance chore: killing weeds in my backyard.

My backyard is largely bare soil, with several plants in some sections. But the large bare areas – well, those are the playground for weeds, lots of them.

I had a few weekdays off recently and I used them as an opportunity to remove the above-ground weed growth, using, of all things, a lopper. It required a bit of deep squatting (!) to position the lopper at the base of each weed and lopping off the vegetation, but it proved to be a good strategy for the first part of the weed-clearing project. The roots underneath the removed vegetation still needed treatment.

Part of my afternoon today was devoted to just that: spraying the weed-affected areas with weed-killer. I used Roundup Super Concentrate (the one with the purple cap).

TIP: Using a Roundup sprayer (I kept an empty bottle) works well for me when I have a few spot-treatments for my front yard, but I’d be outside much of the day spraying my backyard if I had to do that for my backyard. Just the image of squeezing out probably hundreds (thousands?) of sprays was not appealing!

So, this morning, I went out and purchased a hose-end sprayer to significantly reduce the time for completing this chore.

HOW TO: I poured undiluted Roundup Super Concentrate into the sprayer jar, following the directions of how much liquid concentrate to use (in this case, 2-1/2 ounces per gallon of water).  I set the red dial to 2-1/2 ounces and attached my water hose to the sprayer, turned on the water, and sprayed to my heart’s content, just as if I were watering a lawn.

The amount of liquid that sprayed out was very good, significantly more than if I had used a container with a hand-pump device (which I used years ago).

I kept an eye out on the amount left in the sprayer jar and reloaded it once and completed my spray project with minimal effort.  I cleaned out the sprayer jar according to the directions on the label. I’ll monitor the effect of the spraying over the next several days. This product has been very effective in keeping weeds under control in my garden.

NOTE: Be sure that the dial is clearly locked on one of the “rate values” (e.g., 2-1/2 oz) inscribed on the dial, not somewhere between two inscribed rate values since I discovered early on that this stops the liquid concentrate from being suctioned out (i.e., only plain water comes out when the dial is not clearly locked on one of the inscribed rate values).

To be sure that the sprayer is operating properly, do a test spray on some weeds and look at the vegetation to be sure that the spray is foamy, a sign that water and weed killer are both coming out.

UPDATE: Here are detailed manufacturer’s instructions on how to use this product: http://www.scotts.com/smg/catalog/productTemplate.jsp?proId=prod70348&itemId=cat50096&tabs=usage

2 Responses

  1. I just “Weed and Feeded” my whole yard, and mowed today. It has been about a week, and it is greener ande more lush, but I still have tons of weeds. Am thinking I may try and hand pull quite a few…it could be meditational, if I can take being on my knees that long (or butt)!!! LOLOL! 🙂

  2. […] me, it means it’s time for me to get rid of weeds. I have posted on this topic in the past (https://janedata.wordpress.com/2010/04/17/hose-end-sprayer/) but it is good to repeat it from time to time. Especially after our recent rains, weeds seem to […]

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

