Autumn Container Garden Planning

Because my summer container garden did not become active with seedlings until mid-summer, I’m now having to plan on planting my autumn garden at the same time that my summer crops will begin to fruit – not a bad situation to be in, but I’ll have to gather up my remaining empty 5-gallon containers.

I’ll be making a visit to my local garden store in the next week or so to purchase bags of potting soil. I’m lucky to have a bounty of vegetable seeds ready to plant!

For the past few years, I’d been a bit dissatisfied with the portion of my backyard that had remained “undeveloped,” just bare soil, which was grating on my sense of aesthetics and practicality.  But these days I’m grateful to even have an undeveloped backyard space, so I’m counting my blessings much more.

Happily,  it has turned out to be a bit of an unexpected blessing: I have a few tree saplings in that space, planted in the ground, plus many tomato plants in containers also in that space. I’ll soon add my soon-to-be vegetable containers in that space. Because the space is mostly a blank canvas, I feel a bit of freedom to move containers around and change the “occupants” of that space as I (and my palate) desire.

At this time, it seems to be a fun and good use of that garden space. My overall goal is to grow delicious and nutritious crops from my own backyard. It takes some time and money, but it’s well worth it to me.

With each passing year, I try to be a better planner with regard to my container garden, but sometimes, despite efforts, as I’ve discovered this season, I may be awash with warm and cold season crops at the same time, all of which I will gladly enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

