Dragon Tree in Container Nearly in Flower!

Dragon tree, how do you do it? A little over a year ago, I had a few branches of  my mature dragon tree trimmed, but kept all of the tree branch cuttings, placing most in 5-gallon containers.

Once again, this powerhouse of a tree surIMG_1848prises me: one of these cuttings has not only survived in its 5-gallon container (which is a bit tiny, considering how wide the branch cutting is), but it has produced an impressive flower spike! A spike! Yikes! I’m so thrilled!

I thought that a dragon tree needed to be fully grown and planted directly into the ground soil in order to produce a flower spike, but, I’m speculating here, maybe the stage of development of the branch cutting from a mature dragon tree remains intact even in cutting form. Apparently, I don’t have to wait years for this to happen.

This unexpected development gives me a chance to get a really close up view of a young dragon tree flower spike without having to climb a very tall ladder to do it. Wow, wow, wow!

2 Responses

  1. I tried to grow, from a 250mm Dragon Tree cutting.
    All seemed ok for nearly two years, new growth, healthy leaves etc.
    Then I noticed the stem beginning to dehydrate. Sadly I carefully removed plant from the soil, to find no root growth at all. The plant was obviously sucking the stem dry and not developing roots! I have cut about 100mm from the stem and will try once more. Previously I dried the base-stem out prior to planting – wrong!!!
    I am interested in how your cuttings are going?
    Regards, Mike

    • Dear Mike, my cuttings are thriving outdoors. I grow them in 5-gallon black plastic containers I kept from when I purchased other plants. I’m wondering about your tree cutting. Is it grown indoors or outdoors? In a container or in the ground? My own experience with my dragon tree cuttings is that they can live several months not even potted in a container and still produce leaves, just laid flat on the ground.

      When you say that you “dried the base-stem out prior to planting,” do I understand correctly that you’re referring to the part of the cutting where the roots would be appearing? Or are you referring to the end where the cut took place? My cuttings were more “obvious” since I had small leaf buds on the tips.

      If you provide more information about your cutting, I may be able to provide more suggestions. In the meantime, many thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

