Backyard Cleanup and Design

Today was a beautiful afternoon for continuing with my backyard cleanup. Stubborn weeds were further treated with Roundup Super Concentrate. Overhanging tree branches from the neighbors behind me were trimmed. Leaves and other debris were raked and placed into the green waste bin.

With much of the garden maintenance stuff behind me, I now have a near-ready blank backyard canvas space to start contemplating what to place in it. Many possibilities! I’ve already planted 4 fruit tree saplings in that space and am trying to figure what to do with the remaining space. The space is a square. So far, I’m thinking about filling the center with containers, to be planted with tomato and lettuce seeds (while I patiently wait for the saplings to mature and fruit).

I could get fancy and consider other crops but based on the produce that I actually buy from the market and eat, this is the best use of my food garden space.

I’m not yet sure what to do with the perimeter. I don’t want to be entirely focused on food-producing plants in this space so am putting on the list of possibilities annuals and perennials, as well as one of my all-time favorites, lavender, which I seem to not be able to get enough of!

It’s a source of great pleasure plus a dose of frustration to figure how to use an empty space of yard, but I know that the time I’m taking now will produce a great stand-alone yard that will complement the adjacent rose garden. I walked through and stood in the space after the cleanup today and looked all around me. I really feel an excitement to fill it out! I’ll update this blog with my latest garden design thoughts and plans as they become more concrete.

UPDATE: Here are detailed manufacturer’s instructions on how to use this product: http://www.scotts.com/smg/catalog/productTemplate.jsp?proId=prod70348&itemId=cat50096&tabs=usage

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

