Rose Garden: Winter Maintenance

Tomorrow, I’ll be removing dead plant materials from my rose garden, as well as removing weeds. This may sound like a lot of work, but over time, it’s very routine and manageable. I completed the heavier work of hard pruning last month and new leaves, and even a few flowers, have emerged, thanks in part to some unexpected sunny days.

It’ll also be time for me to feed my roses. In the past, I purchased special, dry flower food and fed my roses according to the box’s instructions. However, in the past year, I experimented with using Miracle-Gro LiquaFeed and the results in my garden have been comparable, and for less cost. An added benefit is that I use this product for all of my plants. My roses plants remain robust, as do the many companion plants in my backyard garden, using this all-purpose plant food feeding regimen.

For my garden, based on results, I find it more difficult to justify searching for and paying more for pricier, specialty plant foods. In my case, an all-purpose plant food is all that I need.

TIP: Consider using, on a trial basis, an all-purpose plant food for your garden, instead of a specialty plant food. If the results from this trial are slightly smaller flowers or slightly fewer flowers, compared to when they were fed specialty food, but the plant is healthy and reliably flowers year after year, in my opinion, the cost savings is well worth using the cheaper, all-purpose product.

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

