Dragon Tree: Branch Regeneration

I have one very mature dragon tree and a less mature one. Both have shown, expectedly, branch regeneration. Since my Spring tree trimming of the mature tree, I’ve been keeping an eye on img_1426img_1427the cut branches for any sign of new life. Well, there’s new life! Click on the far right photo to have a better view – it’s the light green nub in the center. Wow! This development is consistent with the emergence of new leaf growth on the cuttings that are not even planted anywhere – the cuttings are lying flat on the ground, only subjected to the air, and water from rainy days (see my previous posts).

The less mature tree is showing new life also. It has new roots, left of center, that are growing toward the soil. I’ll post photos when the roots are near the soil!

The dragon tree has impressed me tremendously with its sheer will to live. It’s a relatively low maintenance tree. Once a year, I have the tree dead-wooded, to remove the expired leaves.

Viva El Drago!

6 Responses

  1. I have a very old (about 55 years) dragon tree and am happy to hear that the branches regenerate. My father in law decided to take out many branches saying it was too heavy. I happen to like it full. We always remove the dead leaves and seed/flower growth but are you supposed to ever remove branches? I have had no luck getting information on this so I would be thankful for information or referance.
    Thank you,
    Elisse

    • Dear Elisse,
      Branch removal is often a practical issue: I trimmed portions of branches (not a whole branch) on my dragon tree because the branches were growing towards the roof of my garage, risking damage to it. The trimmed branches left behind are now growing back, as shown in the photo of this post. But if you keep/kept the branch cuttings and placed the cut ends into a large container with potting soil, or in the ground, the cut end will likely root (as mine did) and the uncut end (which may have been where leaves were growing) will likely grow new leaves. That is, you’ll get new dragon trees. This is a very sturdy tree.

      In areas where they are native, such as the Canary Islands, they grow wild and so are not trimmed. It’s really when they are introduced into civilization when the question of trimming branches arises. Hope this helps, and many thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. I have a dogwood tree,last year I found a branch coming up from the root.This year the branch has grown much taller,about 2-3 feet high.I would like to cut it and regenerate it but I don’t know how to do it. please advise. thanks vivian.

    • Hi, Vivian,
      From what I have read about dogwood trees, they can be propagated by using their seeds, although success by that method can vary quite a lot. The other method, which I think more closely addresses your situation, is to propagate your tree by using cuttings from your tree. This involves using a rooting hormone. A good article with details about this process can be found here: http://www.evergreengardenworks.com/cuttings.htm

      Please let me know how this works out for you. Much success to you, and many thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. I have a very old (49) year old dragon tree and have cut branches off that do not look happy and new ones never grow. Does anyone know how to get more branches? Now I am down to two tall wood trucks with two green nice looking green tops but want more to branch. This is an indoor plant around 7 or 8 feet tall. I do not want to get rid of it, my mom got it in the hospitol when I was born at @ inches tall.
    Any help would be greatful. Thank you !!!

    • Dear Susan, From my own experience with my *outdoor* dragon tree: I have a mature tree (over 50 years, like yours). One of its seeds was deposited a few feet from my front door and about 10-15 years later, a tree with branches emerged. When it was quite young, it looked like just a bunch of dragon tree leaves bursting from the ground, with just one trunk forming slowly. But as the years past, especially in the past 10 years, the trunk formed branches (see my post of my dragon trees at different stages of development, with pictures: https://janedata.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/dragon-trees-ages-and-stages/).

      My best guess: your specific tree’s genes already have a plan for how branched your tree will get and the form it will take. Look online for dracaena draco (the scientific name) and you will see that this tree varies a lot in terms of the number of branches it forms. And keep in mind that existing branches can produce additional branches also. If you give your tree at least 10 years, another branch *might* form and existing branches may develop additional branches. It may be helpful to transplant your tree into a larger container (if that’s possible since a branch from even a young tree is very, very heavy – I cut off a few branches last year), the roots may be more free to grow and strengthen and encourage more growth, possibly in height, girth, and possibly branching.

      If it’s possible to transplant your tree outdoors and plant it directly in the ground, it will grow tremendously in roots and branches, most certainly.

      I hope this helps. Please do let me know how your tree works out, and thanks so much for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

