Tomatoes in the Winter?!

Indeed, it’s true! img_1393I was doing a little bit of weeding this morning and found that a very late-growing tomato plant (likely cherry tomato) is producing a few tomatoes! Click on the photo and look at the top center to get a better view of the lovely green fruits!

As reported in my posts earlier in the year, I was fortunate to have had an amazing bounty of tomatoes to enjoy to my heart’s content this summer…and I was very, very contented! All of my tomato plants were from seed, primarily heirloom varieties. It looked like all of my tomato plants had withered in late September, but then earlier this month, there were signs of life in my one 5-gallon container. I dared not write about this miraculous development until there were further signs that it would be productive and could hold its own in the cold of the winter temperature.

In my earlier container gardening days, I’d just dump out all of the potting soil for green recycling if there was no sign of life according to tomatoes’ presumed “official” fruiting season. No more! Now, I just dutifully wait, sometimes planting something else in the container in the meantime and if the tomato eventually decides to make an appearance, it would be a very welcome surprise. And I am happy to report that I am surprised!

Because it took so long to debut, I planted other things in that same container: ghost plant, also known as Graptopetalum paraguayense and mother of pearl plant, as well as a few seeds of the dragon tree, also known as Dracaena draco and drago tree. It appears that they are one big happy family, each thriving in one cozy container.

I hope to post more photos of the tomato plant when the fruits, hopefully, begin to ripen. I’m eager to taste them when ready. Wow!

CONSUMER ALERT UPDATE: The non-fruit parts of tomato plants are poisonous if ingested. More information on toxic plants can be found here:

http://www.calpoison.org/hcp/KNOW%20YOUR%20PLANTS-plant%20list%20for%20CPCS%2009B.pdf

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

