Propagating Mother of Pearl or Ghost Plant!

At some point last week, a piece of mother of pearl orMother of pearl or ghost plant, broken piece plantedMother of pearl or ghost plant, broken piece ghost plant broke off! It landed in the pot it was growing in, amidst its many fellow rosettes, so I didn’t see it until Sunday. I was quite surprised at what I saw. This sturdy plant was already showing roots! In other words, it grew roots in the absence of soil and water. Now that’s one tough plant. That’s one reason many people enjoy succulents: They thrive, not just survive, in the face of harsh conditions. If you click on the photo, you’ll see the red strands at the broken end of the piece. I planted it in a 5 gallon container, which, not doubt, will soon be overflowing with little rosettes as you see here!

2 Responses

  1. I know this is an old post, but aren’t succulents great?? I just got some in the mail including a ghost plant. Some of the leaves had come off so I just put them in the pot with the plants, and they started growing!! I guess I was kind of expecting it, since I kept them, but I was mostly expecting them to die.
    Beautiful and bombproof. I think this is my favorite type of plant.

    • Hello! Succulents are great, and I am particularly fond of my ghost plants. These plants are sturdy, beautiful, and low maintenance, an unbeatable combination.

      Very good news that your plants are growing. I hope you have many happy years with these plants, and perhaps consider adding other varieties of succulents when you can. Many thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

