Aloes in the Shade!

Aloe veraIn my early gardening days, I placed my container plants anywhere outside where I could find a space. Thankfully, most have thrived despite these rough beginnings! Nowhere is this more true than my aloe plants (succulents). I was given a small aloe vera plant that I put near my shaded front door. It’s a giant and very happy where it is! I water it every two weeks. It’s in, I think, a 5-gallon container with ordinary potting soil.

I also have an Aloe ciliaris, also known as climbing aloe.Aloe ciliaris, uprightAloe ciliaris, close up It is a native of South Africa. I bought this gorgeous plant more than 2 years ago at a 99 Cents Only Store. It’s still in the original 2-inch pot it came in! This is also a giant, loving the shade, growing ever taller (over 4 feet high) and producing new “spikes” that I can remove and establish as new, separate plants (it has 2 new spikes). Last year was the first time it produced a flower spike. The close-up photo shows the flower spike (not now flowering) in the background. The flowers are a deep salmon or coral color and kind of reminds me of Chinese firecrackers! I water this plant every 2 weeks in the original potting soil it came with at time of purchase. I’m propping it up with stakes to prevent it from toppling over! Shade and “aloe” seem contradictory, but it’s been successful for me.

SHOPPING TIP: the 99 Cents Only Store seems to have a steady supply of beautiful, often unlabeled succulents. Each costs, you guessed it, only 99 cents, but these plants are very robust, and clearly can withstand harsh treatment. Part of the fun for me is to buy something unknown, do the research, and try to figure out what the plant is! And you can’t beat the price. To me, it’s a great way to start or add to a lovely succulent garden, which you can keep in containers, or transfer to the ground, without breaking the bank.

2 Responses

  1. I saw an Aloe ciliaris at the store the other day! I remembered seeing a post about it but couldn’t quite put my finger on it…if I run into it again, I will buy it for sure…I love how this looks!
    Julie

  2. I bought my Aloe cillaris on 8-25-12. I think it is an awesome Aloe and much different habit than the other aloes in my Aloe collection. Lonnie

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

