Follow Up on Tree Bark “Lawn”

It’s been a few days since installing the tree bark “lawn,” for lack of a better word. It looks great, but it seems also to have drawn interest from birds, primarily house sparrows. I’m not sure if they’re thinking that the bark may be hiding places for insects, insect larvae, seeds, or any or none of the above. The tree bark lawn is proving for the moment to be a nice complement to my rose garden and the adjacent vegetable and fruit container garden.

When I envisioned my garden design, I’d selected specific plants, such as lantana and lavender, to attract beneficial insects so that they’d help with pollination of the vegetables and fruits. My hope is that with greater bird activity, via the tree bark lawn, the population of destructive insects that eat my tomatoes will decline and I’ll be able to have a larger harvest. Last year, it was a constant battle with grasshoppers, mostly the brown variety, who apparently loved my tomatoes.

3 Responses

  1. i am sorry for such ignorant and stupid question, but what exactly is “bark lawn” ?
    do u have a picture? and please ignore me if thats to stupid question 🙂

  2. That’s a good question! The product is actually described on my Recommendations. Click on that tab, the third one, atop of the page, and it will have my description and a web address to the product I’m describing. Bark lawn is simply shredded tree bark that is poured atop bare soil and raked to fill the full bare soil area. It is used as a low cost, low maintenance alternative to a traditional grass seed or sod lawn. It serves as a mulch to block out weed growth. Instead of a green colored space, it is a multi-hued brown but “green” eco-friendly space. Hope this helps, and thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. oh, ok ok , i know it. well definitely not as a product, but something my parents put around a tree when its young.
    cool, ok, thanks for info.

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

