Spring Is the Time for…Acorn Squash!

Acorn squash, growing in Spring 2008Indeed! Last winter, I’d planted several winter squash seeds, including acorn squash. The acorn squash seeds seemed inactive, so I didn’t think anything of it. However, beginning in late March, it showed signs of life. I now have an acorn squash growing and I’m thrilled! My perspective on this is it’s a blessing any time a seed becomes active – the timeframes provided on the envelopes and labels are apparently approximations. Next to the squash is a random succulent whose name I do not yet know!

2 Responses

  1. I must be doing something wrong…I planted two acorn squash plants about a month ago in a large pot that will have plenty of room to grow…I had tons of flowers come up and now have died. Even the stems are drying up some. But I am watering regularly. Maybe I am giving it the wrong level of water? Our weather has been cool and then warm..would that have some thing to do with it? Can anyone help me? What am I doing wrong?

  2. Dear Terri,

    I’ve had the same thing happen with my summer squash plants in the past month. It may not be your watering schedule. It may be that your squash plant flowers are not getting pollinated by bees (see my posts on colony collapse disorder).

    If you’ve ruled out disease, such as powdery mildew, or insect attacks on your plant, I’d say watch the amount of bee and butterfly activity in your garden. Without insect-aided pollination, you may have to pollinate by hand, which I have yet to do (my summer squash plants perished).

    The squash blossoms or flowers are open and await pollination. When this does not happen, they dry up.

    Hopefully, you still have some blossoms that are still open to pollinate. Otherwise, you would still be within the typical squash planting period to start over.

    Good luck, Terri, and thank you for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

