A Beautiful Spring Day

My plants are thriving, which is always a blessing. I had to remove 3 ill-looking rose plants today, but I was able to replace them with 3 new roses: Hybrid (1), which is mauve-colored and Helmut Schmidt (2), yellow. I took a photo of my garden today. What has been a tremendous relief for me is that the plants have mostly thrived, that I’d selected plants well-suited to this climate and soil conditions.

The roses that seem to be thriving the most are my two City of San Francisco roses. Here is one of these plants after I’d pruned it. I was shocked by the number of new buds!  Pruning twice a year causes me a bit of worry since I’d always been apprehensive about growing roses, that it’d be too difficult, they’re to fussy, and they’d need a lot of TLC. However, this year has given me a bit of more confidence that my pruning has been acceptable to these beautiful plants (a heavy pruning in January, and a light pruning in August), and they’ve rewarded me with cascades of indescribably beautiful and fragrant rewards.

One surprising overachiever in my garden has been the alstromeria, or Peruvian lily. I purchased a few of these plants last year and it’s shocking how well they’ve adapted and thrived. The picture shows actually  one colossal plant that appears to explode with lovely flowers. In the backdrop are lavender plants.Alstromeria, aka Peruvian lily

What has been truly wonderful is that my garden is now teeming with life: birds (northern mockingbird, house sparrows, mourning doves, crows, American kestrel on occasion), butterflies, bees, grasshoppers, and crickets. These have partnered to provide necessary support to my burgeoning container garden (not shown), which have in various stages, fruits and vegetables I’m growing from seed, especially tomatoes, beans of all sorts, squash, and watermelon. This had been part of my design all along: to provide a way to make a garden useful and practical, where each section supports the others.

CONSUMER ALERT UPDATE: There have been reports that alstromeria or Peruvian lily plant is poisonous if it is ingested. Please take care with this plant. More information on toxic plants can be found here:

http://www.calpoison.org/hcp/KNOW%20YOUR%20PLANTS-plant%20list%20for%20CPCS%2009B.pdf

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Organic gardening and the preservation of biodiversity

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

