Cymbidium Orchid: First New Spike for 2008!

I just finished watering my plants and noticed the first new spike in my lovely collection of cymbidium orchids, all in containers in my front yard shade garden. It’s a raspberry-colored orchid, and the one I have the most of. It’s such a pleasure to grow, the flowers are gorgeous and long-lasting, and the plant is robust – I’ve had my cymbidiums, in their original containers, for over 10 years. Longevity!

TIP: Especially when I first started gardening, I would inspect each container for new growth, and often it was a false alarm – new leaves emerging, but not a flower spike. After a lot more personal experience, I now know to look for the “dew drop” shaped growth of the spike, which will have some raspberry-colored streaks. The edges of the spike are especially darker colored. In the next several weeks, this spike with elongate and the full flower spike, complete with flower buds, with make their appearance.

Click on the photo to get a closer detailed view of what the new spike looks like. In the foreground, there are beige-colored remnants of cut spikes from last season.

2 Responses

  1. Thankyou so much for your picture and blog!! I recently bought a new orchid plant few weeks ago!! I know that I am suppose to be watering it once a week. I even bought a growing formula for it which I use it accordingly once in fortnight. I inspect it every now and then for any changes and I am so keen on knowing what a flower spike look like that I am searching it online and your blog gave me some information on it!! You are doing a great job on growing ‘em and thanks for sharing the information online!! Best Wishes…

    • Dear Mandy, I am happy that you found my blog helpful. My warmest wishes of great success with you new orchid. Many thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Sharing the joy of sustainable gardening

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

The Scottish Country Garden

An occasional blog from a walled country garden in South East Scotland

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

