Succulent: Purple Aeonium

Purple aeonium, two of themPurple aeonium with mother of pearl or ghost plantThe purple aeonium, or Aeonium arboreum ‘Atropurpureum,’ is a striking succulent, native to the Canary Islands. Like most succulents, it’s very low maintenance, watering once or twice a week, in a sunny place. I grow them in containers. The one pictured on the left is actually a “container mate” to my beautiful mother of pearl or ghost plant, another succulent. A perfect match! The aeonium resembles a small tree with a few smaller florettes at the ends of new “branches.” The photo on the right is actually of two purple aeoniums in one container.

HOW TO: All of my purple aeoniums are the result of propagation from cuttings. The larger one, on the left, was a cutting given to me as a thoughtful gift, and came from a much larger plant. Propagation for the aeonium is simple, as with the mother of pearl or ghost plant (see my previous post). I just inserted the cutting into a container of potting soil that I’d already watered, and just let nature take its course. It really is that simple!

The smaller two aeoniums on the right were the result of my overzealousness with the watering hose! I ended up breaking off two pieces of the plant and inserted these two cuttings into a container immediately, and the result is what you see here, months later. 

7 Responses

  1. Hi. Do your aeoniums ever get droopy? I have times when mine will, and I wonder if I am keeping mine too dry. I water once a month, but I see you do it twice a month…I repotted mine 4 days ago, loosened the root ball, and added some fresh soil in a larger pot, and watered well…with good drainage…used cactus soil. It still looks droopy on some of the upper leaves. The babies around the larger one look great…it is just the large one that sort of looks like it is struggling…but maybe they just have this appearance at times???

  2. If my email came through on that last post…my new email is listed along with THIS post, if you want to e-mail me….or come visit my blog! I will add you to my links!
    Julie

  3. BTW…wouldn’t it be great to visit the Canary Islands? I would love to see all of the aeoniums growing in the wild there…I think it would just be such a haven for me!
    Julie

  4. I posted a pic of my purple aeonium… all perky now, on my blog tonight! Thanks again!!!

  5. Congratulations, Julie, on your purple aeonium!

Leave a Reply

Garden Fairy Farm

Sharing the joy of sustainable gardening

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France.

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

moments clicked

Some of the best moments captured

villagegardener

Living and Gardening on Cape Cod

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

The Scottish Country Garden

An occasional blog from a walled country garden in South East Scotland

keri's orchids

blogging my orchid obsession

Earth Citizen

Spreading peace by dropping Truth bombs

Arthur in the Garden.

Gardening and Cooking inside the beltline in Raleigh, North Carolina.

jardinerialarcon

Jardinería en la costa del sol

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

